From Knox County Schools Website:

The Knox County Schools system operates within policies set by a nine-member Board of Education. Board Members are elected by district to a four-year term. Their constituency includes residents from the City of Knoxville, Knox County and the Town of Farragut. This body provides direction and oversight for all public schools within the county. The Superintendent is appointed by the Board of Education and serves as the chief executive officer of the school system.

Board of Education Meetings:

  • Work Sessions: Monday before the regular meeting (or the third Monday of the month) at 5 pm, unless otherwise noted, in the First Floor Board Room of the Andrew Johnson Building located at 912 South Gay Street.
  • Regular Sessions: First Wednesday of each month at 5 pm, unless otherwise noted, in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building located at 400 Main Avenue.
  • Executive Sessions: Executive sessions are called as needed. Executive sessions are closed to the public and are for the Board to discuss legal issues with the Board attorney. All other meetings are open to the public.

Board of Education Members:

First District: Gloria Deathridge
Second District: Jennifer Owen  
Third District: Tony Norman
Fourth District: Lynne Fugate
Fifth District: Susan Horn 
Sixth District: Terry Hill
Seventh District: Patti Bounds
Eighth District: Mike McMillan
Ninth District: Amber Rountree

For a map of Districts, please click HERE

Click below for the 2017-2018 BOE Calendar

2017-2018 Board of Education Annual Calendar

Back to Advocacy/Legislative Menu Page
Back to Home